



POWERFUL PAST

2023 Annual Meeting Minutes

July 13, 2023

Pursuant to notice, the 85th annual membership meeting of Egyptian Electric Cooperative Association was held at the office of the Cooperative, located at 1732 Finney Road, Murphysboro, Ill., on Thursday evening, July 13, 2023.

The meeting was called to order at 6:04 p.m. by President Paul Hicks. After the National Anthem and the Pledge of Allegiance, the invocation was given by EECA employee, Mr. Matt McElroy.

Mr. Hicks reported that a quorum was present prior to the start of the meeting. There were 344 registered members and 674 total attendees.

Secretary-Treasurer Randall
Campbell then presented the official
notice of the meeting, the certificate
of mailing, and moved that said notice
and certificate be approved. Motion
was seconded by Mary Wunderlich.
Motion carried. Mr. Campbell moved to
dispense with the reading of the 2022
minutes and that they be approved as
printed. Motion was seconded by Al
Yancey. Motion carried.

Mr. Stuart Langrehr, Chairman of the Nominating Committee, presented the report of the Nominating Committee meeting, held on May 16, 2023, at which time Steve Prest of Coulterville, Richard Asaturian of Carbondale, and Mary Jo Homan of Chester were officially nominated for the office of directors for the ensuing three years.

Attorney Casey Twomey was called upon to conduct the election of directors. There were no nominations filed by petition. A motion was made by Ralph Timpner, seconded by Stephen Schlager, to cast a unanimous ballot to elect Steve Prest, Richard Asaturian, and Mary Jo Homan, as the 2023 directors for a three-year term. Motion carried.

Mr. Campbell presented the Treasurer's Report for 2022 and moved that the Treasurer's Report be approved. Motion was seconded by Dan Connelly. Motion carried.

President Hicks welcomed everyone and reminded them that every registered member would receive a \$20

electric credit on their August bill. He then introduced the General Manager, Mr. Shane Hermetz.

Executive Vice President/ General Manager Shane Hermetz started his remarks by welcoming all members to the 85th Annual Meeting of Members of Egyptian Electric Cooperative. Mr. Hermetz introduced past employees and directors and asked the membership to recognize the hard work of EECA employees. He asked members to review the annual meeting program, where he referenced the Cooperative's reliability was at 99.975%, the Cooperative had returned \$848,612 in 2022 and will be returning \$752,729 in Capital Credits during the summer of 2023 to members who had service in 1992. He discussed the Operation Round Up program and gave an update on its success since its inception in 2019.

He continued his discussion, updating members on how the cooperative was addressing inflation, supply chain concerns, blackout concerns, and the changing power supply landscape. He discussed that the cooperative was addressing the electrification of the transportation fleet by adding electric vehicle charging equipment in strategic locations.

In closing, Mr. Hermetz discussed rate concerns and stated that pressures on electric rates were dropping and rates should remain stable for the remainder of the year. Mr. Hermetz took questions from the membership related to the possibility of electric blackouts, high electricity prices, and the overall energy landscape.

There was no old business or no new business to come forward at the meeting.

President Hicks called to adjourn the business meeting at 6:35 p.m., and on a motion by Butch Hicks, seconded by





Ryan Fischer, Motion carried.

Before the business meeting, drawings were held for attendance prizes. Winners of the gift bag with a t-shirt, hat, and fuel card include the following members: James Buitt, Troy Deming, and Patsy Wilson. Winners of the water jugs were the following members: Paul Penrod, and Delores Bender. The winners of the weather radios were members Christine Davis and Joyce Kramer.

Following the business meeting, the 2023 scholarship winners were announced. The winners were as follows: Logan Salger, Madison Kribs, Tim Reiman, Hunter Havens, Alek Abell, Michael Fisher, Claire Deterding, Annie Kennedy, Jesse Heath, and Jacob Powers.

Upon completion of the scholarship announcements, the remaining attendance prize winners were announced. The winners of \$50 were as follows: John Freeberg, Louis Glidewell, Bill Gottschalk, Karla Heinz, Neil Rodewald, and Edwin Sterns. The winners of \$100 were as follows: Rolland Hargis, Hunter Havens, Barry Newman, John Rieckenberg, David Jennings, Russell Greer, and Donald Stallman.

Respectfully submitted,

Randall Campbell Secretary-Treasurer