Your Touchstone Energy® Cooperative



2019 & 2020 Annual Meeting Minutes

## July 18, 2019

Pursuant to notice, the 81st annual membership meeting of the Egyptian Electric Cooperative Association was held at the office of the Cooperative, located at 1732 Finney Road, Murphysboro, Illinois, on Thursday evening, July 18, 2019.

The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. by President Steve Prest. The National Anthem was played, after which the Pledge of Allegiance was recited. The invocation was given by Rev. Paul Hicks, pastor of the Murdale Baptist Church of Carbondale.

Mr. Prest reported that a quorum was present prior to the start of the meeting. There were 450 registered members and 763 total attendees. A list of those members is attached to these minutes.

Secretary/Treasurer Paul Pyatt then presented the official notice of the meeting, the certificate of mailing, and moved that said notice and certificate be approved. Motion was seconded by Cindy Morgenstern. Motion carried. Mr. Pyatt moved to dispense with the reading of the 2018 minutes and that they be approved as printed. Motion was seconded by Allen Haake. Motion carried.

Mr. Stuart Langrehr, Chairman of the Nominating Committee, presented the report of the Nominating Committee meeting, held May 7, 2019, at which time Kevin Liefer of Red Bud, Mr. Ken Jarrett of Jacob, and Mr. Kevin Bame of Murphysboro were officially nominated for the office of director for the ensuing three years.

Attorney William Broom was called upon to conduct the election of directors. There were no nominations by petition nor were there any nominations from the floor. A motion was made by Jane Conrod, seconded by Jennifer Watson, to cast a unanimous ballot to elect Kevin Liefer, Ken Jarrett, and Kevin Bame, as directors for a three-year term. Motion carried.

Mr. Pyatt presented the Treasurer's report for 2018 and moved that the treasurer's report be approved. Motion was seconded by Laura Crawford. Motion carried.

President Prest welcomed everyone and reminded them that every registered member would receive a \$20 electric credit on their August bill. He described that due to the heat, he would allow members to read his full speech in the annual meeting booklet and forego a formal floor speech. He then introduced the General Manager, Mr. Shane Hermetz.

Executive Vice President/General Manager Shane Hermetz started his remarks by welcoming all members to the 81st Annual Meeting of Members of Egyptian Electric Cooperative. Mr. Hermetz started by introducing the guests in attendance from the AIEC, SIPC, and visiting Cooperatives as well as past employees and directors. He discussed the recent retirement of six employees and asked the membership to help him congratulate them on a happy retirement. He focused his report on three topics: Safety, Reliability, and Affordability.

Mr. Hermetz stressed the importance of safety, asking members to help keep employees safe when they are working along the roadways.

Mr. Hermetz disclosed that members have electricity available to them 99.9% of the time and that the Cooperative would continue to work hard to attempt to achieve 100% reliability. He discussed the ways that the Cooperative had modernized outage response to ensure all members maintain reliable electric service. He shared recent statistics showing a downward trend in both the number of outages that members experience and the total length of time a member is without electric service.

He finished his presentation by announcing there were no plans to adjust electric rates in 2020, but informed the membership that a rate adjustment may be needed in 2021 if outside forces continue to press on costs. He discussed that as the Cooperative moves toward different technologies for electric generation that the Cooperative would balance environmental stewardship, along with cost and system reliability when making long-term decisions. He explained that change to different technologies will happen over time.

It was suggested that members read the Illinois Country Living magazine to keep abreast of national, state, and local updates, as well as member topics. They should also visit our website, Facebook page and Twitter.

There was no old business.

Under new business, Board attorney Mr. Bill Broom introduced fellow Board attorney Ms. Casey Twomey. Ms. Twomey discussed two sets of proposed bylaw changes to the membership. One set of proposed changes covered a variety of topics and are attached to the minutes in a separate document. Ms. Twomey received a motion to accept bylaw change proposal number one by Don Stallman, seconded by Robert Hartmann.

Motion carried. The second proposed change was the addition of Dispute Resolution language to the bylaws, which is also attached in a separate document. Ms. Twomey received a motion to accept bylaw change proposal number two by Dwayne Mulholland, seconded by Allen Haake. Motion car-

President Prest called to adjourn the business meeting at 7:15 p.m. and on a motion by Paul Hicks, seconded by Ester Craig, Motion carried.

Following the business meeting, drawings from 72 applicants present for ten \$1,000 scholarships was held. Scholarship winners were Jessica Kattenbraker of Chester, Nick Camarato of Herrin, Ryan Chambers of Murphysboro, Taylor Hobbs of Murphysboro, Ellen Blechle of Chester, Melissa Crosby of Chester, Lynon Smith of Herrin, Grace Pense of Carbondale, Kate Daniels of Plum Creek Christian School, and Alyssa Hoops of Chester.

A \$250 drawing for signing up to use the Smarthub app was awarded to Patty Johnson.

The drawing for attendance prizes concluded the meeting. The winner of the \$50 cash prize was Robert Ashbury. The winner of the rechargeable flashlight was Jeff Stegman. The winner of the \$50 cash prize was Delta Hull. The winner of the record player was Misty Wittington. Another winner of a \$50 cash prize was David Wedemever. The winner of the weather radio was Immanuel Lutheran Church. The winner of another \$50. cash prize was Allison Miller. The winner of the espresso machine was Neal Rodewald. The winner of the \$100 cash prize was Chris Middendorf. The winner of the coffee machine was David Kruse. The winner of the 50-inch TV was Scott

The member with the oldest account, Earl Welge, won the flower arrangement.

Respectfully submitted, Paul Pyatt, Secretary

## **JULY 16, 2020**

In accordance with the Illinois Governor COVID-19 Executive Order Number 8, the 82nd annual membership meeting of the Egyptian Electric Cooperative Association was cancelled.

Respectfully submitted, Kevin Liefer, Secretary